1r Premi_Carmen Artaza 2 ®A Bofill

Winners of the 58th Tenor Viñas Contest

The Spanish mezzosoprano Carmen Artaza, 25, is the Grand Prize winner of the 58th Tenor Viñas International Singing Competition. She has becoming the seventh Spanish contestant to win the First Prize of the Viñas Tenor Competition, the last was the soprano Beatriz Díaz González to 2007. Artaza has received also the Mozart Prize and the Best Spanish Singer Prize.

The Second Prize had been awarded to Olga Syniakova, and the Argentinian baritone Germán Enrique Alcántara has received the Third Prize.  The other official awards have been given to the Russian baritone Vasily Sokolov (Fourth Prize), the Chinese tenor Chuan Wang (Fifth Prize), and the Russian soprano Inna Demenkova (Sixth Prize).

18 singers from a total of 477 from 55 countries took part in this year's Tenor Viñas Final Audition. 

This year the international jury of the Tenor Viñas Competition has been presided by the Artistic Director of the Gran Teatre del Liceu, Víctor García de Gomar. The other members of the jury have been Damià Carbonell (Head of Artistic Affairs at the Deutsch National Opera), Alessandro Di Gloria (Head of Casting and Artistic Planning Director for Opera and Concerts at Teatro Massimo of Palermo), Alessandro Gallopini (Casting Manager at Teatro alla Scala of  Milan), Sonia Ganassi (Mezzo Soprano), Tobias Hasan (Director of the Staatsoper of Berlin),  Joan Matabosch (Artistic Director of the Teatro Real of Madrid), Elena Pankratova, (Soprano), Christian Schirm (Artistic Director of the Académie of the Opéra National of Paris), Christoph Seuferle (Director of Opera of the Deutsche Oper Berlin) and Ludmila Talikova (Head of the Opera Company of the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia in Moscow). 

In this edition up to 115,000 euros has been allocated in prizes: 77,000 euros in 6 Official Prizes20,000 euros in 4 Special Prizes (this prize category also includes 2 contracts); 23,000 euros in 4 Extraordinary Prizes, (this prize category also includes 9 contracts and 15 study grants). All awards are given with the intention of promoting the operatic career of young talented and capable singers.